Tags

,

Today I had the pleasure, and I use that term with just a hint of sarcasm, of being behind a gentleman in traffic that was in huge hurry. I wondered what was going on. Did he have a personal emergency? Or was he just late to an appointment? Or, more likely, was it just that everyone was going too slow for his liking? It was quite fascinating to watch. There was a sense of amusement while at the same time a bit of worry and concern. He was leaving no more than 5 or 6 feet between himself and the car in front of him. Being directly behind him I felt it prudent to leave 2 or 3 car lengths between us. He was a fender bender waiting to happen. He switched lanes a few times but never really made any progress. While it was a source of amusement for me, I also felt some empathy. I feel like I was there a few years ago. I went through a period of road rage that, fortunately for me, eventually passed. And I feel I was very lucky not to have either caused an accident or gotten into a confrontation with another crazy driver. It’s been said again and again, but we are in too much of a hurry these days. It is not good for our stress levels and reduces our quality of life. It’s amazing how much more enjoyable life is when you slow down and enjoy the moment. So let’s all hurry up and slow down.

